JP Chua

By: JP Chua on December 13th, 2023

Print/Save as PDF

What is CMMC 2.0? [Video]

Video | Compliance

cmmc 2.0

As cybersecurity gets more complex, government agencies have updated the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification or CMMC 2.0 guidelines. Contractors are left with no choice but to bolster their cybersecurity or run the risk of losing their business to other competitors. So what are the new changes to the CMMC 2.0? And what can you do to stay compliant? We’ll break it all down in today’s video. 

1:09 What is CMMC 2.0? 

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) is a standard of cybersecurity verification controls for private contractors. CMMC 2.0 is the simplified version of the original CMMC guidelines and is expected to go into effect in March 2024 and be in contract by January 2025. The US Department of Defense launched CMMC to protect the US Defense Supply Chain from cyberthreats. It aims to speed up the adoption of mature cybersecurity practices & prevent false compliance claims. 

1:50 What are the new levels of CMMC 2.0? 

Instead of five levels of certification found in CMMC v1, CMMC 2.0 simplified it into only three levels: Foundational, Advanced, and Expert. 

3:15 What are the steps to implement CMMC 2.0? 

  1. Get the right people onboard.   
  2. Assess your current IT setup.  
  3. Evaluate the payoff for complying with CMMC guidelines.    
  4. Build a Plan of Action.   

To learn even more about CMMC 2.0, be sure to download our FREE eBook, “Everything You Must Know About CMMC 2.0.” It will guide you through the essentials of CMMC accreditation for your business.   

3 Types of Cybersecurity Solutions your Business Must Have